Memorable Angling Corner Stones – By Stewart Rusling

I’m sure we all have those stand out moments in our angling journeys, the ones where things either take a real step forward, or due to circumstance we’re forced to change our ‘tack’, along of course with those ‘red letter’ days we all remember.  Here is a short account of two such memories I hold dear in my angling journey thus far; a change of venue, and a surprise foreign adventure!

Pastures New…..

I left a well know northwest club water, slightly disillusioned with the way it was being run, and some of the of anglers it was attracting.  This isn’t a slight on the club or its members at all, I fully understand clubs have to run in such a way as to please the majority, it was just that as my angling progressed I found myself more and more in the minority, seeking a different sort of challenge.

This was my first venture into syndicate water fishing, about 18 years ago now.  There wasn’t a big head of carp in the water I finally settled on; high doubles, some good twenties and two know thirty plus carp and amongst them some really lovely originals.  First of all I started visiting the lake with a marker rod and some feed, just looking for a few spots.  A lot of my angling at the time was during midweek with my job consuming my time at the weekends, which suited me just fine.

IMG_8593

I met a few anglers who were really helpful giving me some advice to get me going, and I fell in love with the place straight away.  Not only was the fishing good, but it was a lake you could go to just to unwind and relax.  After fishing the lake for about eight months I started to get to grips with the water, and having some good success.  I had one of the know thirty’s, and an unknown, original 34lb pound mirror.  The two rigs I mostly used were a helicopter set up, mainly because of the soft lake bed, and a balanced tiger nut rig, which was the one that accounted for the big mirror.

This change of venue ‘type’, really forced me to change my approach, and dig deeper than ever into the mind of the carp I was chasing.  Its something I remember as a real change of pace in my angling, slower speed, but at the same time much deeper in thought.  The rewards were amazing, and I loved it!

Oh my Cod……

The last time I visited Australia with the wife to see the family, I was told we had a family trip booked for a week, imagine to my surprise when I was a told that week we were going to spend sailing on the mighty Murray river, the first thing came to mind was fishing!!  I started to do my home work, the iconic fish to go after was the Murray cod….

IMG_8725

Sadly I never caught a one from the river, but what we did catch was carp and lots of them!  They are frowned upon by the ‘Aussies’, and considered a pest; you can actually get fined for returning them back to the water, but then I’m not an Aussie that’s all I will say 😎.  I even got the family involved; nephews and, even the wife.

 

After our week away up the river, we returned back to the inlaws house, where there is a small lake about 3min walk away I’d been fishing, catching small carp, snapping turtle, perch, and to my surprise and everyone else’s a murray cod!!  Which no one knew were in there, I was one happy and surprised angler!  It just goes to show, if you make the most of every opportunity you can acheive your targets, even if they end up being a little unauthodox.

IMG_8724

Off to Australia again soon for my nephews wedding, think I might be sneaking a bit of fishing tackle in once the wife’s done her packing, watch this space……..

Till then, tight lines everyone and keep banking those angling memories! – Stew

 

Feel free to comment, we'd love to hear from you.

