A Year to Remember – By Liam Watts

I shall start this blog off where I ended the last one, the 8th of May 2016, the night I’ll never forget (you can see my previous blog here). We were back on our way to Reedy Pit because the hold it had on me was too much to ignore. The night started the same as all the others, an intense, exciting mission through the undergrowth to get to the water’s edge. I was on my own in my preferred spot and as soon as I looked out onto the water I could tell there were fish on the baited area, big shapes moving about in the darkness, fish feeding and crashing on the spot, unaware of my intentions to catch one. I managed to get both rods set up in the pitch black, barely making a sound. I put on two bags of crushed Trigonella that had already been tied up at home. If I’m honest I really enjoyed the preparation for this type of fishing, doing everything possible to make sure you can just set up on arrival with no lights and get two rods out with very little disturbance is crucial.

Both rods went out perfectly before I sat back in the bushes with excitement, after what seemed liked two seconds I was getting liners! I knew it wouldn’t be long before one of the rods ripped off, as I got up to have a look at the water bang went the rod and the line was ripped from the reel, I hit into the fish and knew instantly it wasn’t a big fish. I managed to drag the fish away from the spot whilst trying my best not to disturb the chunks that may have been feeding on the spot. It was then I netted the small common, no bigger than 10lb.

17352848_10155193540919434_697945651_n

As I slipped it back to its watery home the other rod was away, again I hit into the fish and knew it wasn’t a big one. I did exactly the same with this fish, I dragged it as far away from the spot as possible and netted it. This fish being a bit bigger, mid double size. The fish went straight back out the net, clearly wanting to make as little disturbance as possible. I had two rods on the bank and had managed to land two fish. I then realized that one rod would suffice as there were more than enough fish feeding. So with the one rod and a bag of crushed Trigonella I sent it back out. I then sat back and thought I may have put the fish off by catching the two small commons off the spot. Then a huge line bite occurred and the bobbin smashed against the blank of the rod and then settled back down. I knew it wasn’t going to be long before I was going to be into a fish again, catching the two small commons hadn’t put them off at all.

After a minute or two the rod that was out came to life, the line was been pulled from the reel and the rod tip was bouncing around in the moonlight. I hit into this fish and instantly knew it was a much bigger fish as the fight was on another level. I was grateful that I didn’t have another rod in the water to worry about, this fish absolutely pulled like a train and wasn’t giving up easily. I grabbed the net and waded out into the water after it, every now and again seeing its scales in the moonlight. I knew it was a common and I knew it was the biggest fish I had ever hooked into, the feeling was indescribable. I was excited, nervous and scared all at the same time, my legs were shaking. As it came up after a long fight, I managed to scoop the net underneath it. I had done it, trying my best not to let out a yelp. I slowly waded back to the bank and got everything ready to see how big she was, as she sat in the sling I was an over excited mess, giggling to myself and buzzing at what I’d just achieved. Whilst at the same time trying to be as quiet as possible so I didn’t alert the rangers of my presence. After the photos were taken and I slipped her back, I just sat there, no rods in the water and in a state of shock. The sense of achievement was unreal, I would say I was the happiest I had been in a long while and that was all down the fishing. The drive home that night was one I shall never forget, I had achieved a goal in my angling and that was to catch a PB carp.

17328070_10155193540934434_989968734_n

After that session on Reedy it became a tad on-top to say the least. We managed to get a few more sessions in and caught a few more lovely fish but the police presence and nearly been caught by the rangers a few times had put us off.

We then decided to move onto to the river and a few new waters on a ticket we had just obtained, they did not disappoint in the slightest. Going on to catch some amazing Carp and some very impressive Barbel. The biggest I managed was 10lb 10oz after many nights blanking the night the Barbel went in the net was one to remember. The fight was like nothing I’d felt before and is definitely addictive. The power of the river, the challenges that come with it all make for some real exciting fishing and I’ll definitely be doing a lot more fishing for them amazing powerful fish.

 

The one other part of the year that was near the top of the list was when we took on the mission of the 210 acre res. For sure the biggest water I have ever cast a line into. We managed to catch a common each on the first night and I lost another two fish that morning, due to been cut off by mussels. A tad disappointing to say the least.

 

More nights were spent on the res but no more fish for me. The year continued and many more missions were undertaken, most of them being with a very good friend of mine that I met threw fishing, Fred Reeve. An all round top guy and brilliant fisherman, big up Fred! I’d also like to give another two lads I’ve met along the way a shout out and that is Phil and Jody, both really good anglers and all round nice guys.

I had many sessions with all three of them throughout 2016, all of which were memorable missions, that’s for sure. I could go on forever about all the adventures I underwent last year and the amazing times we all had, but I’m sure you’re all already bored to death and if you managed to get this far you have done well.

Remember people you need to get out there and try to achieve your goals, tight lines and wet nets. Go out there and achieve the unachievable.

#TeamBeechwood #CarpyWatts #ItsOKNotToPay

 

One thought on “A Year to Remember – By Liam Watts”

Feel free to comment, we'd love to hear from you.

