My Trigonella Journey 2016-Barry Smith

barry

I was first introduced to Trigonella In June 2016 when I was out fishing with Brian Coakley and Stewart Rusling. The first thing I noticed about this bait was its pungent smell …. frankly it stinks, there is no other way to describe it. I had a 10mm Trigonella Boilie in my hand, and being the person I am, my brain started ticking away.  My first thought was to use this with a bomb, almost replacing a pellet when the going gets tough.  It’s another offering that may bring a fish when bites slow up.

IMG_1745.JPG

So that’s what I did initially, but the lightbulb moment happened at Larford Lakes in July 2016 where this bait really came to life for me.  I will set the scene for you:

On a trip with Fishing in the Northwest, we were doing a review on the specimen lake and the three lads from the team were fishing for bream, but I was on an out-and-out carp mission and my line of attack was pellet waggler, bomb and pellet.  I had 12 mm pellets as my chosen bait ( big enough to catapult to distance ) and having had the chats with Martin the head bailiff, I pretty much had my plan in my head.  I could see the fish in the upper layers of the water but something wasn’t right.  I could not mug them.  They would not take my pellet ……. so I changed my hooklength to a 12″ quickstop hooklength and threaded a Trigonella 10mm boilie and out I went.  Boom!!  The rod bent double on the splash and it was fish on.  I had that lump on for over 15 minutes and I didn’t land it.  As you can imagine the banter was thick and fast from the lads on that lost fish because it was clearly a big fish, but I had a new bait!!  A starting bait!!  Not a plan B bait but a Plan A bait.  From that moment on at Larford I landed a lot of  lumps and had an amazing day.

The next development for me personally was honed on a local water back home.  Aimed at pellet waggler method, 12mm pellets glugged in Trigonella oil and used for high in the water fishing as well as on the deck for bomb and pellet.  It was on this venue that I practiced the glugging process and got the pellets just right and the results were simply outstanding.  I began to use this process on other waters and for the summer of 2016 I just had an amazing few months with a lot of fish falling to this bait and method.

trig1

Trigonella is an exceptional bait and I think I have only scratched the surface of this bait.  I am yet to use paste or have a session with expanders on this bait, but watch out 2017 because I will be developing more killer methods for this amazing carp bait.

If you regularly read my blogs, view my Facebook/twitter pages, this bait will be familiar to you but I urge you to give yourself an edge, and if you do anything different in 2017…….. then make it Trigonella and start fishing on the edge.

See you on the bank

Barry

trig-jpg-large

 

4 thoughts on “My Trigonella Journey 2016-Barry Smith”

Feel free to comment, we'd love to hear from you.

