Game On……… A New Challenge!

Introduction

For those anglers who have maybe been fishing for a while and found your own preferred style or your “go to” approach, can  you remember the last time you felt like you knew nothing?  Like everything was new and you were a little lost with a whole new experience of fishing?  Frustrated that you didn’t know things?  Totally dependent on others to pass on their experience or having to research to understand what you were doing and why?  The little things that are alien to you but second nature to others?  Feel reluctant to ask because you feel stupid?  It may have been a while since you felt this way if you have been fishing for a long time, but that feeling of not knowing, of doing something totally different to what you normally do on the bank …………. It`s familiar to me and humbling, it excites me……  and I am full of it!

Let me explain why I am feeling like this and what has led me to this amazing place in my fishing …… .

Here at Beechwood Baits we are a bunch of anglers that believe there are massive benefits to getting together socially and fishing as often as we can as a team.  Having experienced two socials at Rosemary Wood and Larford Lakes it occurred to me that although I have my “go to” methods which I absolutely champion, I also have an abundance of experience around me in the form of big carp anglers.  It would be criminal of me to not use such experience that this team of anglers have to offer,  and come on now …. who doesn’t want a whacker!  I have a huge passion to get that “water shot” with a big old Northern thirty (but to be honest I won’t complain with any big fish, or where it comes from for that matter!).

So I find myself driven to learn new ways of fishing that will get me closer to my  goal, that “water shot” ….. and my journey begins.

Chapter 1- planting the seed and watching it grow

It really all started while having a conversation with Brian Coakley and Stewart Rusling around wanting to throw a rod in through the night while on socials.  We felt that we were missing a trick by not having a line in the water while all the carp lads in the team were buzzing away all night with runs.  That was all the excuse I needed to plant the seed in my head.  So where does this “water shot” passion come from that burns inside me?  I could not tell you is the honest answer, other than to say every time I look at an angler in the water with a fish I say to myself I want one of those shots!  There is something magical about the connection with a fish when you are in his/her world and gently capturing the moment, actually worshiping the fish if truth be told. I want it to be me!

IMG_6619

 

Taking a methodical approach the first steps of my journey were to simply seek out advice from the team, and get a feel for what type of equipment I would need to be able to fish for carp through the night while on socials, and really getting advice on the important aspects of this new style of fishing without breaking the bank…… wow!  You know what, I learned so much with just a few conversations with the lads in the team.  Cheekily I also asked them to keep an ear to the ground and give me a shout if they see any set up that fitted what I was looking for:  The sound advice I received was ………….

  • A good Bivvy is a must, keep warm, keep dry, get best quality you can afford.
  • Focus on the reel quality more than the rod quality.
  • 2.75 test curve seemed to be the solid advice for rod.
  • Start with 1 or 2 rods for now.
  • Don’t pay the earth for Delks just yet, get some good value for money alarms that do the job.
  • Don’t worry about end tackle just yet, we will get to that .

 

With all of the above in mind I have lost count of the numerous bivvy videos I have watched, testimonials I have read, Ebay searches I have done, links I have been sent, messages I have had from the lads  ……. It goes on and on.  However there was a breakthrough from none other than Gav Astley who spotted something on Facebook and sent it over and I am now the proud owner of :

2 x Sonik SKS 12ft 2 piece Carp rods (2.75 and 3Lb test curve)

intro1

 

 

2 x Diawa Regal 4500 Baitrunner reels

intro2

2 x fox Micron m+ Bite alarms and Nash H-Gun 2 rod pod

intro3

Fox Royale 60” Brolly system

intro4

 

Ok, so now I have the rods, reels, alarms, and a small footprint to keep me warm and dry.

But I know nothing about end tackle  argggggggggggg………………..

Suppose I better get back to school and learn all about basic end tackle so I can begin to turn my dream into a reality.

Join me next time for a lesson on rigs, weights, wraps, PNBA, hooks, spods, spoms, throwing sticks, stick mixes, PVA and whatever else I can glean from the lads.

 

Oh that elusive water shot is a little nearer now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Feel free to comment, we'd love to hear from you.

