That Sinking Feeling…… By Barry Smith

With one eye on the Beechwood Baits social next weekend, I headed to my local water for a few hours determined to get a handle on a method that will catch my target species (Carp, Obviously) on the surface, in the upper layers, mid-water AND on the bottom!  All with 1 rig and 1 rod, not having to make any adjustments to depth, and to add to that I want the fish to hang themselves.  I don’t want much do I!!  Sounds perfect right?  Or perfectly mental?  Maybe both, but I had an end game in mind and this session was for me to get a handle on it.

Now the rationale is very simple, I have to sink my pellet waggler float at the same speed as my loose fed pellets droping through the water, giving me what I believe to be four bites at a fish; 1-on the splash, 2- upper layers, 3- mid to lower layers and 4- on the bottom.  Easier said than done!!!

Bait for this short session was 11mm pellets gluged in Beechwood Baits Trigonella for the hook  and the same pellets to loose feed.  A few other variations of pellet sizes and colours just in case.   That was the easy bit!!

img_5299

Ok, so I set to work on this float and started concocting a slow sinking float that would near as damn it sink with my loose fed pellets …….. and this took some time because my thinking was if it didn’t look natural, I was in for a dry mat day.  So I took my time, swapped and changed a lot of weights, but I just couldn’t get this float to sink slow, until I added a splash disk designed for a different much bulkier float and BOOM it looked perfect.

img_5298

Float set to go I decided because of the slight wind, which made a manageable left to right bow in my line, I would have my rod resting to my right where I can make a quicker impact on the strike to my float. So now to set this float rig so the fish hang themselves.  To do this I simply had a space of about 6/8 inches between float stops, for the float to move freely.  Big space right!  But the idea being the fish will take the pellet and feel nothing until the float hits the float stop, and the hook would bury.

img_5297

All I have to do now is loose feed and get the float over the pellets.

My first cast using sinking pellet waggler ended in a carp hanging itself on my hook, and no strike needed.

Fish followed fish followed fish and this method was well worth taking the time to get right. I caught in all four target areas through the session and thoroughly enjoyed getting a handle on this method.

fish-pics

I had a few today on this method and hope I have stirred something in someone to maybe try this themselves, it’s a great way to catch fish and you have the added pleasure of the guy in the peg next to you watch you cast a float out and it disappears all the time…… I had some fun with it!  On a side note I was chatting to a couple of lads who took some Trigonella pellets as I was leaving, and first put in he had a fish on and was eager to tell me it was a  Beechwood pellet ….. Perfect end to a session.

Until next time …..It’s been a pleasure!

Check out some video footage of the frantic action during this session here : https://youtu.be/idFo350zfr0

 

Feel free to comment, we'd love to hear from you.

